Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Galesburg High School senior Gauge Shipp will continue his wrestling career at Hofstra University, an NCAA Division I school in Hempstead, New York. [Matthew Wheaton/Wheat on the Prairie]

By Matthew Wheaton, Wheat on the Prairie

GALESBURG — As he sat at a table draped with a Silver Streaks table cloth, the spotlight shined on Galesburg High School senior Gauge Shipp inside the Hegg Performing Arts Center on Thursday afternoon.

But Shipp is used to being in the limelight.

The 132-pounder has drawn attention throughout his wrestling career, and moving forward the stage will be even bigger.

A lifelong dream has come true for Shipp, who has committed to wear a singlet for Hofstra University, an NCAA Division I school in Hempstead, New York — roughly an hour and 20 minute drive from New York City, also known as “The Big Apple.”

“Hofstra, I fell in love with the program when I took a visit,” Shipp said. “The coaches reached out to me constantly, and they were always asking about me. They care about me as a person and as a wrestler, and that’s what you want.

“With those coaches and the right leadership, I think they’re going to help set up my future,” Shipp added.

Unlike in high school, Shipp will have access to a wrestling room 24/7 as a member of the Pride, and he will take full advantage.

“If I could live in the wrestling room I would,” Shipp said. “Everyone in a Division I room is going to be great, and being in that atmosphere every single day is going to help me get so much better.

“I feel like I haven’t even hit my prime yet.”

Resume speaks for itself

Shipp finished his high career with an overall record of 172-10. He’s a four-time state qualifier. As a junior, Shipp took first at 138 pounds, and he placed third as a freshman, sixth as a sophomore, and ended up with a second place medal this winter.

Shipp aimed for back-to-back state titles in two different weight classes, but a left ankle/foot injury in the Class 2A championship match derailed that goal.

“It’s unfortunate the way I ended my high school career, but when you look at the overall picture I had a great run in high school,” Shipp said. “Hopefully, I set a great example.”

Shipp, who ditched a walking boot last Monday and is fully recovered, did indeed, and the list of his accolades is extensive.

Shipp holds Galesburg school records for most varsity wins, consecutive wins (96), takedowns in a career and season, pins in a career and season, and individual match points in a career and season. He finished atop the Western Big 6 four straight times, and Shipp won four regional titles.

“Gauge has taken the program to heights that I couldn’t imagine,” said Greg Leibach, who has coached the Streaks for eight seasons. “It wasn’t just him, but it was his senior classmates as well.

“Gauge has a personality that other people are drawn to,” Leibach added. “He has fun.”

Five questions, five answers…

1. How do you feel about your Galesburg High School career?

Shipp: “There’s nothing that I would change about my high school career. It was amazing. Coach Leibach, the Galesburg wrestling program, and just the Galesburg community as a whole made it perfect for me. Not only did I make myself better, but I helped create a great team atmosphere. Hopefully, I set a great example for the future Galesburg wrestlers and Galesburg athletes as a whole for what it’s like to be a unified team.”

2. Do you get nervous at all on the mat?

Shipp: “I’m never nervous about losing. I’m nervous about not being perfect. My goal every time I step out there is to be perfect. If it doesn’t happen then it doesn’t happen, but that’s what I’m worried about.”

3. How much do you look forward to the challenge of collegiate wrestling?

Shipp: “I’m going to get beat on a little bit in the practice room, but that’s exactly what I’m ready for. I’m going to make my mark in college.”

4. How special was your signing ceremony?

Shipp: “It was great to see everyone who has supported me right in front of me. It was perfect and a great atmosphere.”

5. How much does it mean to you to teach other wrestlers?

Shipp: “I love it, and they help me out, too, and they don’t even realize it. They make me such a better leader and a better person. I thank them for that. My dad always told me that once you can teach something you get eight times better at it, and I truly believe that. When I teach someone how to shoot a single leg, I get a lot better at shooting a single leg.

“I started through the Knox County Krushers, and that’s how I learned to wrestle. Anyone in this town can take that route, it is a free club that my dad runs.”

Departing thought…

“I’m excited to see how the next chapter of his career plays out,” Leibach said. “I’m hoping to watch him in person as often as possible even though his season is going to overlap with our season.

“I just believe that with consistent quality training partners and the high-level coaching at Hofstra is going to send Gauge onward and upward.”

Want to help pay for some gas? Venmo: @Matthew-Wheaton-10 or PayPal: @wheat76 Want to shoot an email? matthewlwheaton@gmail.com